STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA COUNTY OF MCDOWELL COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS ADJOURNED SESSION-FIRE COMMISSION – MAY 11, 2017

ASSEMBLY

The McDowell County Board of Commissioners met in an Adjourned Session on Thursday, May 11, 2017, at 6:30 p.m., at McDowell Technical Community College, 54 College Drive, Marion, North Carolina.

MEMBERS PRESENT

David N. Walker, Chair; Barry McPeters, Vice-Chair; Matthew Crawford, and Lynn Greene

MEMBERS ABSENT

Tony Brown

OTHERS PRESENT

Ashley Wooten, County Manager; Cheryl Mitchell, Clerk to the Board

CALL TO ORDER

Chief Brad Ledbetter, Chair of the Fire Commission, called the meeting to order, and asked each department to give an update of their department.

The following departments gave a brief update:

Ashford-North Cove Fire Department Glenwood Fire Department Marion Fire Department Nebo Fire Department Old Fort Fire Department PG Fire Department Sugar Hill Fire Department Woodlawn Fire Department McDowell Rescue Emergency Management

The following departments were not present:

Crooked Creek Fire Department Dysartsville Fire Department Hankins North Fork Fire Department

Chair Walker expressed his appreciation for the dedication of the firemen and rescue personnel, and the great job they do.

Each Commissioner voiced their appreciation for the work and collaboration of the departments.

Mr. Wooten also expressed his appreciation for the cooperation of the fire departments, Rescue Squad, Emergency Management Services, and Emergency Management.

Mr. Ledbetter expressed his appreciation to the Board for keeping the departments in the budget. He also advised the Fire Commission had applied for a 501 (c) 3 permit.

Mr. William Kehler and Mr. Craig Walker gave a tour of the 911 Backup Center, and also introduced Mr. Steve Hancock, Logistics Manager.

DAVID N. WALKER CHAIRMAN CHERYL L. MITCHELL CLERK TO THE BOARD